Standing Committees

CFUW Guelph has a number of committees responsible for overseeing the operations of the club.  Volunteering for a committee is a great way to get involved in the ongoing work and long term sustainability of the club.

Standing Committees

Executive Committee, President -Sonia Spekkens

Directs the activities of the club according to the constitution and bylaws, and standard operating procedures.

Advocacy Committee,  Chair – Deb Thompson

Directs advocacy activities of the club, including meetings with elected officials.
Represents CFUW Guelph at Ontario Council Standing Committee meetings.
Members are welcome to join on an ad-hoc basis for any issue.

Communications Committee, Chair – Heather Bailey

Responsible for all club communications, including monthly newsletter, website, social media and CFUW Guelph events.

Clare Irwin, Assistant Newsletter Editor

Brenda Coomber, Newsletter Editor

Heather Bailey, Web Manager

Janet Hodgson, Database Manager

Hospitality Committee, Chair – Barbara Kuczynski

Responsible for all hospitality activities of the Club.

Member Services Committee, Co-Chairs – Kerry Detlor and Melodie Wynne

Keeps current member records and membership lists and coordinate interest groups.

Program Committee, Chair – Janet Bruder

Responsible for arranging a program of speakers related to the goals and purposes of CFUW and for the logistics related to the lecture portion of all general meetings.

Non-Executive Standing Committees

Archives Committee, Chair – Mary McEwen

Keeps a record of matters pertaining to the club’s history.

Document Review Committee

Reviews the Constitution and Bylaws annually.
Revi1ews the Policies and Procedures annually.

Chair – Esther Semple
Member – Kerry Detlor
Member – Susan Brown

Nominations Committee

Prepares slate of officers for the executive and scholarship committees for the following year.

Member – Susan Brown
Member – Sandra McCormick

Resolutions Committee, Chair – Susan Brown

Reviews CFUW National and Ontario Council resolutions.

Scholarship Committee, Chair – Gabriella Facchini

Administers the scholarship and award funds.

Treasurer – Brenda Coomber
Secretary –
Member-at-Large –
Appointed – Esther Semple
Ex Officio – Sonia Spekkens